Skip to main content

Two new directors have joined the Metro Tasmania board.
Chairperson of Metro Tasmania Ms Lynn Mason said today Nick Burrows and Mike Harris had been
appointed to fill vacancies on the board.
She said the two new directors would bring a wealth of experience and skill to the Metro board.
Mr Burrows is a director of TasTAFE and Clean Seas Tuna Limited and chair of their Audit and Risk
Management Committees. He also chairs Tasmanian Quality Assured, a not for profit, independent
consultancy advising agri-business, and serves on the Tasmanian Council of the Governance Institute
of Australia. He is an independent external member of the Audit and Risk Committees of Glenorchy
City and Kingborough Councils and the Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and
Ms Mason said that Mr Burrows had spent 21 years with ASX-listed Tassal Group as chief financial
officer and company secretary until 2009 when he established his own business providing corporate
governance and financial restructuring advice to clients.
Mr Harris is a former chief executive of the Australian Automobile Association and has worked as
chief executive of the ACT Chief Minister’s Department and as director-general of Transport in WA
and in the ACT public sector. In the ACT he held the positions of under treasurer and chief
executive of the ACT Department of Treasury.
His has also served as commissioner of the Tasmanian Legal Aid Commission, commissioner of the
State Fire Commission, chair and commissioner of the WA Planning Commission, chair of the WA
Road and Sea Freight Councils, and chair of publicly-owned Totalcare Industries.
Ms Mason thanked Ms Tracy Matthews who retired from the Board.
“Tracy has been on the Board since 2007 and has been an excellent chairperson of the Audit & Risk
Committee, and an exceptional contributor in all aspects of Metro’s strategic governance and
direction,” Ms Mason said.
Former Metro chairperson and director Ron Ward resigned in July