Skip to main content


30 November 2023

New Metro Chair and Directors Announced

Metro has appointed current director Anthony Braxton-Smith to the position of Chair at its annual general meeting today (30 November).

The company also appointed Dr Jane Sargison and Ian Vanderbeek to its Board of Directors.

Mr Braxton-Smith, who has 30 years’ experience as a senior executive and was most recently the chief executive for the Department of Infrastructure and Transport in South Australia, replaced Tim Gardner, who did not seek a further term as Chair.

Mr Gardner spent eight years on the Metro Board, the last five years as Chair. He listed the Zero Emission Bus trials for Hobart and Launceston and the progress made in the company’s modernisation journey as highlights of his tenure.

Dr Sargison and Mr Vanderbeek will bring extensive and relevant experience to Board deliberations.

Dr Sargison is the Managing Director of JSA Consulting Engineers. She was a Rhodes Scholar for Tasmania and the 2011 National Professional Engineer of the Year. Her recent roles have included Director of the Australian Renewable Energy Agency, TasWater, Southern Water and the Australian Institute of Energy.

Mr Vanderbeek, a non-executive director of the TasRail Board, started his career as a commercial pilot in Papua New Guinea before moving to London to work for a major independent charter airline. His recent executive role was as Chief Executive Officer of helicopter operator Aviator Group, from which he retired in June 2020.

Dr Sargison and Mr Vanderbeek replace Mr Gardner and Greg Wallace, who decided not to seek re-election, respectively.

Metro Thanks Mr Gardner and Mr Wallace for their service.